HOW TO AN EFFICIENT BLOGGER

pizap.com14387110177201

It’s kind of funny to me that I up and decided to write a post on how to blog efficiently, especially since I didn’t post but once last week. Ha! While I do get a lot of things done, other things usually are simultaneously slipping through the cracks. But, I have found some tools that are very helpful for me and I thought I’d share them with you!

1. Have a designated office space

For the first year of blogging, I mostly blogged from my couch. At one point I made my LIVING ROOM OFFICE, but it was too out in the middle of the house. I needed a room where I could close the door if needed. And I could walk away and keep my work in the room.

It’s hard to work from home, but this set-up helps a ton. I find that I am so much more productive when I am in my designated space and not sitting in front of the TV.

The set-up works perfectly for my needs and I love having my desk look out the window. I’m hoping to makeover this room this year. The inspiration board is in the works! But until then, be sure to check out my Pinterest board for more office inspiration.

2. Use a great planner

I don’t plan out each and every single hourly increment in my Daily Designer, I still use it to plan out my day. I’ve found that I get less overwhelmed by the to-do list in my head when I write it down. And I tend to remember to do the things I need to do when I’ve emptied out the extra contents and have allowed myself to think again. LOVE it!

Blogging planners helps me keep my social media management under control. Well, as under control as it can possibly be. As a blogger, social media can just be plain crazy. So, I love the “daily blog maintenance” page. It’s better than just trying to keep track of it all in my head.

3. Create office hours.

It was hard for me to set office hours when I blogged from the couch or the dining room. The lines were too blurred between home and work life. And for a while when this was just a hobby, that was OK, I guess. But now I must schedule my time behind the computer screen. Otherwise it has the potential to take over every hour of my day.

My normal weekly work schedule looks like this:

During preschool: 9:30-12:45 {two days a week}

Nap times: 2-5 {Don’t be jealous because I have a three-year-old who is the greatest napper ever!}

Night: 9-midnight {In the past I would frequently work until 3 in the morning, but I’ve decided that sleep and my health is more important than almost any blog post.}

4. Have pretty organization.

I know pretty may seem trivial to some, but to me it is a necessity! If I’m going to stay organized, it’s going to need to be cute. Can I get an amen??

Decorative file folders are one of my favorite products. I keep a handful on my desk for every-day filing. In The Turquoise Home file, I’ll toss bank statements, receipts or contracts, just to keep them in one place. And about once a month I’ll go through and actually log them into the computer, scan them or even file in my larger file folder. It’s a great way to keep the piles off my desk or kitchen counter. I also have folders labeled “to pay,” “to file,” and “to do.”

Conclusion

I by no means have it all figured out. Like I said above, there’s always something falling through the cracks at any given moment, but these four tips are what helps me attempt to keep it all straight. There are days and weeks when I take a nap during Miss A’s nap time. Or I go meet a friend for coffee during preschool. That’s one thing I love about this job {that is so much fun and doesn’t feel like work}! I am my own boss and I make my own schedule.

Leave a Reply

