4 ABOUT PAGE MISTAKES (and how to fix them)

cchaganspizapw1438626708

4 ABOUT PAGE MISTAKES (and how to fix them)

When people write an about page, they get board and run out of words. Writing about yourself can be very taxing and boring and you loose interest in what you are writing. Here’s my quick on 4 main mistakes people make on their about pages.


THE STORY WAS BORING.
Everyone has a story.  Where you’re from, when you born, what you studied in school, etc., etc… and for most of us, our story is pretty ordinary.  Mine certainly is.  The trick is finding a way to tell your story that doesn’t bore your audience to tears.  Think about this part as a writing sample. Your voice needs to pour out of your story. It should be written in the same style as your blog, or your social media, or whatever it is that you’re putting out there.

I DIDN’T PIVOT.
A few weeks ago I had a lightbulb moment when I was discussing about pages with a client. Your about page is where you need to share all the things that set you apart from the other people in your industry. Your occupation, what you are, be it web designer, photographer, or blogger, that is the fixed point. People probably know that part before they even click on your about page.
So you need to pivot. You don’t need to talk about that fixed point, you need to talk about all those things the reader doesn’t already know about you.
Another way of thinking about it is what do you and your ideal client / reader have in common? Talk about that. If it’s someone who is hiring you, you probably don’t have your skill in common. In my case, I like working with creative women- interior designers, event planners, and the like. Instead of talking about how much I love to code, I need to talk about how much I appreciate well-decorated spaces and how stationery and fresh cut flowers make my heart go pitter-patter (see what I mean? Why don’t have that in there?!)

THERE WAS NO HIERARCHY.
I’m not one of those bloggers who thinks that all blog posts need headlines, bolded words, and three different colors of text to make them more “scannable.”  Sometimes you just gotta write.  But on an about page?  For your business? People need something to grab them.

NOT  PLAYING ON YOUR  STRENGTHS.
I’m a web designer. What was I doing with a page full of text? If you’re a writer, write. If you’re a visual person, make it visual. The good news with about pages is that it can be whatever you want it to be, and more creative is generally better! Be different.

I’m not perfect but I can give good advice and when it’s needed I love to accept advice.  Let me know what mistakes you might have made on your own about pages.

Leave a Reply

